Second Chances

2304

In the Summer months before my Senior year in high school, after gaining my parents’ confidence to paint my own room upstairs by myself (trim and all!) and while painting away for several days and contemplating my Senior year and our class boys entering their final year of playing varsity basketball, I came up with the little gem below. (It’s presented in its original — 1964/’65 and final-edited, 1995 form — page by page as final typed.)

SECOND HALF, By Barbara Anne Helberg:

003

004

005

006

007

008

009

010

011

Basketball at Holgate High was important to its small, farm town community — still is! “Second Chance” was my only extended attempt at writing a fictional sports short story during my high school days. Although singular, it led to a growing and more serious, wider interest in sports and the sports-writing genre.

More detailed and complicated sports stories followed, leading my imagination to wonder if I could make a career in sports. Unfortunately, the “times” weren’t right. The story didn’t lead me anywhere special. Upon reflection, though, I know sports was an arena in which I (hind-sightedly) think would have been ideal for me. At the time, the middle 1960s, becoming independent enough as a young female to leave home was in itself my burning priority.

However, portions of “Second Chance” that I later used in a Famous Writers School assignment did receive good reviews, and my instructor told me, “Of course, you (as a female) can write about sports!”

That instructor was one of several who encouraged me along my way in life to pursue my own desires. And my Mother always told me, “Follow your dreams”. I believe I have, in part, accomplished that, but distractions in life as you plan other things are many and varied.

 

basketball-1642578_960_720

*****Credits:
Top Photo from the personal and copyrighted collection of Barbara Anne Helberg
Bottom Photo courtesy of http://www.pixabay.com

 

 

 

 

 

About bahelberg1

Since I first touched a pencil to paper, I've been writing. Where that passion has taken me as I lived life is explored in my Primary blog, "My Writing Life Xposed". I love animals, including race horses, about whom I have written much, and I've always had a dog in my life. Shouldn't animals have their say? In my Second Primary blog, "Horses and Animals Are Talkin", I give them a chance to speak. In the Composite blog "Near the Finish Line", I explore my life's journey and observations. Other interests -- poetry, sports, photography, thankfulness, story ideas, self-publishing, story art, fiction, and more -- get their due in my other (17) blogs. I'm from a rural community in Ohio, lived nine years in Vermont, then returned to my native Henry County in 1980. I've worked for various local newspapers and attended classes in writing over the years before retiring to free-lancing in 2008. It was after my migration back to Ohio that I began BAT Publishing in earnest. It is strictly a self-publishing enterprise in that I publish my own works -- novels, novelettes, short stories with my Roughcraft Art -- in my own softcover, or loose-leaf notebook, designs. My photos and artwork are also incorporated in the books. Prior to this endeavor, I produced a periodic story booklet for young writers only entitled "Connections". Its success sparked my interest in self-publishing my own titles.
This entry was posted in sports, The Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

