“Babe” By Another Name

127

Of course, as a youngster, I thought “Babe” (Mildred) Didrikson Zaharias was wonderful. I continued to admire her sports enthusiasm and prowess all my life.

I’m standing outside the cement barn floor, where our basket was located before Dad built the full basketball court in the hayloft above. You can see hay stuffed in the corner of the loft.

Notice the gloved hands. Cold weather rarely stopped me from getting a little shooting practice in after school was out!

cropped-img_2839.jpg

About bahelberg1

Since I first touched a pencil to paper, I've been writing. Where that passion has taken me as I lived life is explored in my Primary blog, http://www.mywritinglifexposed.wordpress.com . I love animals, including race horses, about whom I have written much, and I've always had a dog in my life. Shouldn't animals have their say? In my Second Primary blog, http://www.horsesandanimalsaretalkin.wordpress.com , I give them a chance to speak. In the Composite blog http://www.nearthefinishline.wordpress.com , I explore my life's journey and observations. Other interests -- poetry, sports, photography, thankfulness, story ideas, self-publishing, story art, fiction, and more -- get their due in my other (17) blogs. I'm from a rural community in Ohio, lived nine years in Vermont, then returned to my native Henry County in 1980. I've worked for various local newspapers and attended classes in writing over the years before retiring to free-lancing in 2008. It was after my migration back to Ohio that I began BAT Publishing in earnest. It is strictly a self-publishing enterprise in that I publish my own works -- novels, novelettes, short stories with my Roughcraft Art -- in my own softcover, or loose-leaf notebook, designs. My photos and artwork are also incorporated in the books. Prior to this endeavor, I produced a periodic story booklet for young writers only entitled "Connections". Its success sparked my interest in self-publishing my own titles.
This entry was posted in sports, The Writing Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Babe” By Another Name

  1. Wow that basketball looks massive lol and surely those are the legs from two bodies lol

    • bahelberg1 says:

      The ball was massive in my growing hands, and the legs long and lanky, but all was good enough to thrash my brothers at this age in a game of one-on-one, or “Horse”! 🙂

      • The gloves reminds me of playing in the freezing cold of South Dakota one winter. Seems like you had the frame for a basketballer that’s for sure 🙂

      • bahelberg1 says:

        South Dakota Winter — brrrr; now that’s cold!! I actually had more passion for the sport of basketball than my brothers did at this age, but they grew! Things changed! Ha! 🙂

      • Yeah time changes everything. I was a runt when I played for an actual team, by the time I quit, within a few years I was ‘basketball height’ but grew too late. thanks genetics 🙂

      • bahelberg1 says:

        Stuff happens. I’ve always wished there had been a girls squad for us in high school, but it didn’t happen until about eight years after we graduated. Still, my basketball Dad and I and my brothers had memorable family fun with the roundball!

Leave a Reply

