…Paragraphs Soon Followed

003

Blessed with two loving parents, my mother, a poetess when she pleased herself to be, and my father, a fierce competitor and provider, I soon learned the power of the written word and the value of competition as I grew comfortable between two brothers. My Dad taught me about competitive sports and honesty, while my Mom encouraged my desire to write.

I thought there was no holding me back after I learned that words plus words equaled a sentence.

But there was more, so much more…

My Mom told me about “action” words. What could “The dog” do? I was puzzled. “Does he run?” Mom suggested. Of course, he does, I thought. My dog Penny always ran around with me in the yard. I nodded my head “yes”.

“Tell it,” Mom said. “Write it.”

That took a little thought. I strung the words “the” and “dog” with “run”. The dog run. Mom smiled. “Well, try ‘ran’,” she told me. Again, I dragged letters and words together. The dog ran. “Doesn’t that sound better?” Mom asked. The dog ran. Wow!

Oh, yes! That sounded great! Run and ran were “action” words, Mom said. She called them “verbs”. They told the action. I got that immediately. “But they’re tricky,” Mom warned. “You have to use the correct verb for the action.” I must have smiled with a puzzled look again. “You’ll learn more about that later. What sounds right is fine for now,” Mom explained.

My mind was flying forward with excitement. My hand had created a sentence with two words, and now I had a sentence of three words with “action”! More…please!

What more could the dog do?

Penny jumps, I thought. “The dog jumps,” I wrote. Penny eats. “The dog eats,” my fingers squeezed out of the pencil. Penny sleeps. “The dog sleeps”, my flying hand created. I re-read the sentences. A tiny raft of sentences had produced a story! It was an astounding accomplishment!

“Tell it,” Mom had said. “Write it.” And I had done just that! I was a writer! My Mom was smiling at me as I grinned from ear to ear.

cropped-img_2839.jpg

About bahelberg1

Since I first touched a pencil to paper, I've been writing. Where that passion has taken me as I lived life is explored in my Primary blog, "My Writing Life Xposed". I love animals, including race horses, about whom I have written much, and I've always had a dog in my life. Shouldn't animals have their say? In my Second Primary blog, "Horses and Animals Are Talkin", I give them a chance to speak. In the Composite blog "Near the Finish Line", I explore my life's journey and observations. Other interests -- poetry, sports, photography, thankfulness, story ideas, self-publishing, story art, fiction, and more -- get their due in my other (17) blogs. I'm from a rural community in Ohio, lived nine years in Vermont, then returned to my native Henry County in 1980. I've worked for various local newspapers and attended classes in writing over the years before retiring to free-lancing in 2008. It was after my migration back to Ohio that I began BAT Publishing in earnest. It is strictly a self-publishing enterprise in that I publish my own works -- novels, novelettes, short stories with my Roughcraft Art -- in my own softcover, or loose-leaf notebook, designs. My photos and artwork are also incorporated in the books. Prior to this endeavor, I produced a periodic story booklet for young writers only entitled "Connections". Its success sparked my interest in self-publishing my own titles.
This entry was posted in ActionWords, Beginnings, sentences, The Writing Life, verbs, words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

